City Smackdown: D.C. vs. Chicago vs. New Orleans

6 10 2009

NewOrleans7New Orleans (courtesy of Luke Entelis)

So I figured out the main problem with D.C.: everybody here is always talking about where they’d like to move.  The consequences of this aura of transience?  It forces me to think about where I should be moving, when really, I might just want to stay here.

The only three big cities I’ve had a chance to live in or near have been D.C., Chicago, and New Orleans, which are all incredibly different from one another, so I thought it would be appropriate to pit these cities against each other in a city smackdown to settle this matter once and for all. 

I am going to rate the aspects of a city that I find to be most important, and these ratings are based on my impressions, not on hard data. So if you have a huge problem with my system, feel free to kindly disagree with me or make your own city smackdown, but please keep the hate-mail to a minimum.

My point system:  0 points for third place, 1 point for second place, 2 points for first place.

Best Overall Food

Chicago-2

New Orleans-1 (I know, I feel like a traitor, but Chicago wins based on variety.)

DC-0

Best Overall Climate

DC-2

Chicago-1

New Orleans-0

Best Live Music Scene

New Orleans-2

Chicago-1

DC-0

Diversity of Population

DC-2

New Orleans-1

Chicago-0

Most Intelligent-Seeming Population

DC-2

Chicago-1

New Orleans-0

Overall Flavor/Personality

New Orleans-2

Chicago-1

DC-0

Least Annoying Native Accent

DC- 2

New Orleans-1

Chicago-0

Friendliness of Population

Chicago-2

New Orleans-1

DC-0

Proximity to Other Great Cities

DC-2

Chicago-0 (sorry, no second place winner in this category… I mean, Detroit? no.)

New Orleans-0

Proximity to Mountains and Beach

DC- 2

Chicago-1

New Orleans-0

Cityscape/Aesthetic Appeal of City as a Whole

Chicago-2

DC-1

New Orleans-0

Party/Drinking/Dancing Scene

New Orleans-2

Chicago-1

DC-0

 

The results:

D.C.- 13

Chicago-12

New Orleans-10

 

D.C. wins by a small margin, folks.  I’m shocked!  I was sure Chicago was gonna pull it out in the end. 

What do you guys think?  Where would you move if you could? 

Actions

Information

10 responses

6 10 2009
Geof Boyle

I want to live in India at some point. Or find four other telecommuters, buy and install Internet in a small castle in Europe (seriously, like 600K euros will get you an ugly tower with some nice hedgerows) and live and work from there.
Ratings, spot on, except I haven’t been to chitown in a while, and there was a lot of good food, but was it really more diverse than here?

6 10 2009
woman of non-leisure

I think if you had added this category: “Number of nearby decent sports teams (including college)” Chicago might of pulled it out. That implies that you consider the cubs decent, philly not really nearby D.C. and ignore the Saints all together. I’d buy it though.

6 10 2009
Lord Enigma

I would seriously not move to a city for an avid spectator sport scene. Going to a place where people talk about sports all the time is not much different than talking about video games to much. Both lead inevitably to a conversation about how big your flat screen tv is.

6 10 2009
bros

you forgot food and dining!

6 10 2009
districtramblings

I certainly did not. Food was the first category. It was a tough decision, because all three cities have their culinary strengths. Chicago and D.C. both have way more variety than New Orleans, but Chicago really attracts more great chefs and restaurants than D.C. does when it comes down to it.

7 10 2009
Southern Girl

The perfect scenario: DC from March to June, Chicago from June to October, New Orleans from October to March, including Mardi Gras.

7 10 2009
Geof Boyle

I think Southern Girl nailed it.

8 10 2009
Slab Pie

I have to say that DC is a beautiful city- I think that one should have been a tie. Architecture here is amazing!!!

8 10 2009
Mary Lisa

Cost of living should have been a catagory too. I think N.O. would have won that one.

13 10 2009
Smartest City Confirmation « District Ramblings

[…] been a bit of controversy over the category “Most Intelligent-Seeming Population” in my City Smackdown post (in which I ranked DC 1st, Chicago 2nd and New Orleans 3rd), I wanted to present you all with the […]

Leave a Reply

