What’s Your Theme Song?

21 05 2010

Yesterday afternoon, some friends and I went to the Nationals game to watch them get crushed by the Mets (hooray?).  What’s cool about home games is that each player gets to pick a personalized at-bat theme song.  The choices range from Pearl Jam’s “Even Flow” to unrecognizable crunk rap to Metallica’s version of “Turn the Page.”  I think they are generally supposed to be loud and manly and intimidating, maybe to scare the pitcher or something.

Anyway, we got to talking about theme songs.  What would our at-bat theme songs be?  My friend said his would be “Rape Me” by Nirvana, which I thought left something to be desired in the intimidation department.  I would probably pick something slow and melodramatic by Celine Dion, just to mess with the pitcher’s head.  Maybe “All By Myself,” or “Because You Loved Me.”  Can’t you picture it?  I’m walking up to bat, swinging my sinewy arms around and spitting brown dip spit into the dirt as I step up to the plate, and Celine comes on the loudspeaker:  “When I was young, I never needed anyone, and makin’ love was just for fun… Those days are gone.”  How are you gonna throw me a fast-ball after that?

This conversation obviously gave way to a broader conversation about life theme songs.  Everyone has thought about his or her life theme song, which wouldn’t play ALL the time, just at key emotional climaxes.  Or you could have a few different songs that correspond to the different major emotions– happiness, sadness, anger, fear, humiliation– and always play at the appropriate times.

For instance, I would appreciate it if Van Morrison’s “Bright Side of the Road” played throughout the universe at key happy moments in my life, like when I’m walking down the street after getting a big job promotion.  When I’m pissed off, I would like for Limp Bizkit’s “Break Stuff” to blast out of the clouds.  And while I’m getting married, I think that everyone on the planet should be forced to listen to Elvis’ “It’s Now or Never,” just to make sure we’re all on the same page.  Know what I mean?

But if I had to pick one overarching theme song for myself that would follow me around and color my moods, I would choose “Woman’s Got Soul,” by the Impressions.

So there you have it.  What’s your theme song?

Actions

Information

16 responses

21 05 2010
taylor's friend

In high school, I pitched to Marvin Gaye’s “Let’s Get it On,” and approached the plate to Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody.”

Some other noteworthy songs were:
– “Sweet Home Alabama” – by a guy who had signed with Alabama; trendy, but toolish.
– “Natural Woman” – nothing says homerun like Aretha Franklin melting your eears.

21 05 2010
Hannah

I’ve thought of this before, and mine would be either “Hit me with your best shot” or “Baraccuda” by Pat Benitar.

21 05 2010
bros

i think stayin alive is the best walking/hiking song ever.

21 05 2010
districtramblings

Supposedly it’s a choice song for doctors to play during major surgeries, as well, because the beat corresponds almost exactly to a healthy heartbeat.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/27221281/

21 05 2010
bros

fascinating.

21 05 2010
geof

When I enter any public building:

When I start my car:

When I’m pouring my first drink of the evening:

21 05 2010
jayneyomamasfriend

Vjane, this is for US.

21 05 2010
22 05 2010
Gabriel

That’s an impossible question…

But, just for sake of argument:
“Concerto of The Desperado” (The Roots) or “We Got the Jazz” (A Tribe Called Quest)

22 05 2010
Gabriel from Philly

scratch that… it’s MOST DEFINITELY “Concerto of The Desperado.”

22 05 2010
cb

Mine would be Bob Marley’s “Buffalo Soldier”.

22 05 2010
22 05 2010
B

Vampire Weekend – Oxford Comma (lyrics in video description)

And, of course, Benjy Davis Project – I Love You (The music video applies as well.)

and the lyrics (not that anyone cares)…
“She pulls me
Pushes out
Has her plans and has her doubts
I’m falling somewhere in between
She makes it obvious enough

She asks me why
I ask back
Seems my best defense so far is what I lack
This shit goes ’round and round and round
If it all came down to love

I love you deeper than I can swim
Feel my lungs caving in
Nobody’s saving me now
I love you stronger than I can hold
Worth more than dying for
Nobody’s saving me now
Oh, you’re so much better than I deserve
More than these stupid words
Page after page scribbled down
I’m going crazy, so crazy
And nobody’s saving me now

Truth be told
I don’t mind
Not at all
I’d rather sink in perfect peace
Than count the stories as I fall
Everything I say is true

I love you deeper than I can swim
Feel my lungs caving in
Nobody’s saving me now
I love you stronger than I can hold
Worth more than dying for
Nobody’s saving me now
Oh, you’re so much better than I deserve
More than these stupid words
Page after page scribbled down
I’m going crazy, so crazy
And nobody’s saving me now

And you need to let me do what I do
Cause baby you
You’re the only one I’d ever choose
So please baby try,
Try to remember that I…

I love you deeper than I can swim
Feel my lungs caving in
Nobody’s saving me now
I love you stronger than I can hold
Worth more than dying for
Nobody’s saving me now
Oh, you’re so much better than I deserve
More than these stupid words
Page after page scribbled down
I’m going crazy, so crazy
And nobody’s saving me now”

22 05 2010
graber

big pimpin – jay z. clearly.

23 05 2010
graber

or this:

24 05 2010
Julian

Obviously it needs to be a pun. “Take Me Home Tonight,” “Bat Out Of Hell,” “Hold It, Now Hit It,” “Swing Low Sweet Chariot,” etc…

Leave a Reply

